My Pop made it

My Pop finally made it to be with his Lord.  On April 9th, 2008.  I hope to one day be able to fully express my emotions about that.  For now, suffice it to say that I am thrilled that he is basking in the glory of heaven, but so very sad and heart-sick for our loss and I literally ache for my Monni-Moo, his wife of 62 years.

Pop spent his last few weeks in bed, sometimes too tired and ill to be coherent, but often in fairly good spirits and very aware of his surroundings.  When I would go to visit, he always knew who I was and spoke the sweetest words to me, sometimes musing about heaven and angels; sometimes lamenting that he was not there yet.  Once he asked me to stay with him a while because he was more relaxed when I was in the room.  Once he didn’t say anything at all – I simply sat with him and stroked his head, thinking he was asleep the whole time.  The only words he uttered to me on that day were as I was getting up to leave him.  He opened his eyes, and told me he loved me.  That moment will stay with me forever.  I’m so blessed to have had my Pop for so long & will always love him.

~ by jenevangelista on May 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
