Do you still get cake and ice cream in Heaven?

Today is Pop’s birthday.  He is celebrating in Heaven & I wonder just what he is up to.  When I imagine him today, for some reason I see him doing “little boy” things.  I see him splashing in a stream, running with friends, chasing frogs, and holding a handmade fishing pole.

 

I see him as eight years old.  I’m not sure exactly why, except that I take comfort in the fact that he has a strong, young, perfect body and I like to think he is taking full advantage of it.  I also think that sometimes we all want to act like children, but our grown-up lives prevent it.  Pop doesn’t have those restraints anymore.  I know he is most likely spending much of his time golfing and tinkering away in his specially prepared workshop, but I also think he has his moments when his boyhood takes over and he just simply enjoys a gorgeous day. 

So, in a place where there is no age, and time is irrelevent, how is Pop celebrating today?  I hope there is cake and ice cream in Heaven.  And I hope my Pop is making a big mess with it as any little boy should.  I know I will miss enjoying some with him this year.

~ by jenevangelista on June 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
