Slow Breathing

When Abraham is really tired and fighting sleep, sometimes I can hold him close in the rocker by his crib, give him his favorite blanket to grasp and sing to him as we rock.  I usually sing the “Abraham Song”, made up for him in response to Arabella’s stern belief that because she had a special song, yes the “Arabella Song”, he needed one as well.  After a very few moments, I can feel his body relaxing and his breathing slow.  Soon, he is comfortable and safe in his mother’s arms, sleeping soundly – “like a baby” if you will.

To the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star:

“Abraham, Abraham, Little Boy

You are Mommy’s Pride and Joy

Joseph, Jacob, Bella, too

My Four Angels, I Love You

Abraham, Abraham, Little Boy

How I love my Pride and Joy”

Although I rocked them all, and they each have a special song, the pure comfort that my littlest blessing receives as a result of hearing my little melody is unlike any of my other children, and something I truly cherish about my Abraham.

~ by jenevangelista on June 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “Slow Breathing”

  1. That is the cutest song, just the other day I read an article that talked about moms singing to their children. I can not wait to have that moment myself.

    Thanks for sharing your motherhood moment—I’m excited!

    Karan Anne

  2. It’s the best, Karen Anne! We are praying for ya’ll and looking forward to seeing you guys soon, checking out that belly and before you know it, meeting the little one!

Leave a Reply

 
