Perfect 10

                                              

I realize that I am plenty old enough to have a ten year old.  In fact, truth be told, I know more than a few women my age with high school and college aged kids.  Still, the fact that our oldest son turns ten today is a big deal.  Joseph is growing into a responsible and wonderful young man and every so often I start to see him through different eyes.  Yes, they are still the eyes of a mother, but a mother who is realizing her son’s potential and his character.  There are times when Brad & I get frustrated about all of our kids and wonder if we are doing things even remotely “right” where they are concerned.  Overall, we are flying by the seat of our pants with this child-rearing stuff and rely heavily on the grace of God. 

When I see Joseph mature, however, and God allows me to catch a glimpse of all that is store for him, I look upwards and am thankful for being given the awesome responsibility of raising him.  He is, indeed, only in our home for a relatively short time.  I pray that we are always faithful with that time and God continues to bless him and mold him, in spite of our parental shortcomings, into a man after His heart.  That is my prayer for my ten year old.

Happy Birthday, Joe.  We love you.

            

~ by jenevangelista on August 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
