First Day

The first day of school.  A day that touches everyone a little differently.  For some moms that I know, it is a day of celebration – literally, including lunch with the gals and a glass of wine 🙂 . For other moms, it is a day of reflection with a touch of sadness, especially those sending their first, only, or youngest child out the door.  For still others, it heralds the beginning of the extra stressors of homework, tests, projects, bedtime battles and morning rants. 

For the children, the reaction to this day is also quite diverse, even in my own home.  The emotions range from anger at society for requiring such an intrusion into TV watching, video game playing and overall laziness to excitement about finally being big enough to join the ranks of school-going children, to nervousness about a new classroom, teacher and friends to dread of the countless sheets of paper to be completed over the next months to joy of becoming a social creature again. 

For me, I have to say that my response to this day is a strange combination of many emotions.  I know that my kids need the outlet that school provides socially, emotionally, physically,  and let’s not forget the obvious need to become educated.  I am also excited about the idea of spending a little more quality one on one time with Abraham, even if it is just a few hours on the one day a week I’m off.  I will admit, however, that I am not looking forward to the added strain school places on our family with the ironing of uniforms, struggling with cranky kids in the mornings and the tense homework hours after a long day at work for both Brad and me.  I suppose that as with most things in life, Back to School Day must be embraced with all of its implications – good and bad.  And that is what I will choose to do!

       

~ by jenevangelista on August 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
