Forty Years

It is difficult to imagine living with the same someone, sharing countless joys and heartaches with them, and still being totally in love with them – for forty years. 

That is what my parents have done, and they are still going strong.  In a day and age when, sadly,  failed marraiges seem to be the norm, I am blessed to have been raised in a family grounded by two people who do, indeed, personify what marraige should be all about.  I have no memory of conflict between my parents growing up, although I’m confident (as a married woman) that there were some.  My brother and I were shielded from strife and were witnesses to Godly parenting.  I can recall watching my mother crying out to God by her bed.  I still see my father studying the Word in preparation to teach it.  And I vividly recount going to church literally every time the doors were open, building a solid foundation for my faith. 

My parents are still living lives worthy of praise and emulation.  They love my brother and me without any conditions and now have the same adoration for Brad and our children.  They still strive for righteousness and although we won’t always agree about everything, I know that they are still always behind me and my family.

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad.  I thank God for you and love you more than you will ever know.       Jen

~ by jenevangelista on August 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “Forty Years”

  1. Wow, what a sweet tribute. I praise the Lord for granting your daddy and me the past 40 years to grow in love and grace, and I thank Him everyday for blessing our home with you and Jeff. Little did I know 40 years ago that our family would one day include a precious son in law and 4 of the most beautiful grandchildren in the world.

    My advice to you and Brad is to take time to enjoy and appreciate your family because, believe me, you will blink hard and it will be your turn to celebrate 40 years of marriage.

    Thank you for your kind and gracious sentiments, but thank you most of all for being YOU!
    I love you so very much,
    Mom

  2. […] One years.  I recently posted about my parents on their their 40th anniversary (one week before Joe and Linda’s).  I cannot reflect on my in-laws during their child […]

Leave a Reply

 
