The Candy Jar

This Candy Jar sits on my Grandparents’ kitchen countertop.  It has been filled with M&M’s for as long as I can remember.  Each of my children quickly discovered it’s spot and help themselves to it’s colorful contents during each visit (well, Abe has yet to figure it out, but give him time 🙂 ).  Arabella is especially fond of the jar and doesn’t leave the house without a ziploc bag filled with candy.  Pop used to keep it filled and soon after he was gone I noticed it empty for a while.  Before too long a well meaning family member filled it, but used Peanut M&M’s, which of course was just not the same. 

I’m happy to report that Monnie-Moo has diligently taken up the mantle of Candy Jar Filling and I haven’t seen the bottom of the jar in a long while.  I sometimes get emotional thinking about this rainbow treat and the association it has with my grandparents.   I am thankful for the relationship I had with them throughout my life and continue to have with my wonderful Monnie-Moo.   She is a true blessing to me and my children.

  

~ by jenevangelista on September 19, 2008.

One Response to “The Candy Jar”

  1. I love memories. I have so many wonderful memories from childhood. I think that is one reason I love pictures so much.

Leave a Reply

 
