Company Ready

Most of the 12 people who read my blog know that we moved into a “real” neighborhood about a year ago, and there are still some things I am trying to get used to.  For example, I often get a minimum of 1-2 sales people coming to my door each week – pushing pine straw, gutters, books, cleaning services, or household goods.  And I am only home one day each week!  Even a closed garage door and a locked front door doesn’t completely protect my privacy.   I hate that.

The other problem I face is the fact that I have painfully realized that my house is never, and I mean never “company ready” – unless, of course, I am planning to have company and even then it’s 50/50.  We know a few of our neighbors and we will occasionally have drop-in guests.  They are always greeted with toys in the living room, books obscuring the dining room table,  an ironing board covered with random stacks of clothing in the family room, my laptop surrounded by papers & CDs on the bar in the kitchen, and dirty dishes in and around the sink.  I could clean all day, every day and I’m convinced my house would never look any different.  Here’s one example of why this is the case.

 

Just as a disclaimer – this is not my mother’s fault.  She taught me better.  I have a minimal amount guilt about it, but don’t see it changing in the near future (like the next 5 years or so).  The bottom line is this – you are always welcome to our home, but if you do not like the idea of walking into a kid crazed, mildly malodorous mess, give me 10 minutes 🙂 .

Oh, and enjoy the outside of the house!  It usually looks pretty good.

~ by jenevangelista on October 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “Company Ready”

  1. And I thought mine was the only house like that & I only have 1 tween living at home. Thanks!!

  2. You are welcome. Any time I can be of assistance in raising the self esteem of others, I’ll always proudly do it :).

Leave a Reply

 
