A Random Act of Kindness

I knew I had a long day at the office ahead of me yesterday.  It was the Monday before Christmas and all the parents of the world have a fairly unrealistic goal of getting their children well before the Big Day.  Anyway, I decided that I couldn’t start the day without a big cup of Coffee and since I didn’t have time to go to my fav spot, Columbus Coffee, I pulled into Starbucks. 

wr-starbucks

My attitude was not super as I waited in the long drive-thru line, watching the clock tick off the seconds until I had to face the full parking lot in my building.  I got to the window to retrieve my Pumpkin Spice Latte and found that the car in front of me had already paid for it.  The perky Barista said that the lady told me to have a “Merry Christmas”.  I don’t think I knew her, I certainly hadn’t given her any indication that I was worthy of such a gift, but it was given to me anyway.

For some reason, this $4 token of kindness moved me to tears on the way to work.  My day was as full as it promised to be, I worked through lunch and I didn’t get finished seeing patients until after 7pm.  However, I was content and relatively happy all day. 

I was also reminded of what a beautiful and unmerited gift I was given by my God this time of year in the form of a newborn baby.    A baby who grew to die on a cross to save me.  I know the Savior of the World doesn’t compare to a cup of Joe, but if God can use coffee to spark an attitude of worship for Him, I’ll roll with it.

wr-baby

It’s amazing what a simple selfless act can do for another person when they need it most.

Thank you, whoever you are, I pray you are similarly blessed this holiday season.

~ by jenevangelista on December 23, 2008.

4 Responses to “A Random Act of Kindness”

  1. Awesome!

    P.S. I enjoy you when you come and worship near where I stand at the end of the service. I can hear your beautiful voice loud and clear!

  2. That was beautiful. I even cried. I might’ve cried all day had I read it earlier but I didn’t need THAT to make me cry, too. Merry Christmas, Jennifer! I miss you!

  3. That is so sweet and brought me to tears – we never know what our random acts of kindness will do for another
    Now I want to go to Starbucks so I can do the same thing and of course get a caramel Frappachino – hehe
    Merry Christmas sweet Jennifer
    May God bless you with much love, joy, peace, and laughter!
    Kim

  4. Tears are wellingup just reading this! That was so sweet!Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
