I hate dinnertime!

It’s official, I hate dinnertime!  I know that this is a strong word, but it’s a strong sentiment and I feel it in the depths of my being.  

I do not enjoy finding a recipe, then scouring my pantry to find somewhat similar ingredients to add to the recipe I have found.  In my world, most things I decide to cook require a trip to the grocery store (which is something else I hate).  Fortunately the internet has been my salvation many times as I can just keep searching until I find a pitiful recipe that does not include 3-5 ingredients that no real-life working mother has already stocked on the shelves.  I’m not good at throwing things together and having them come out tasty – apparently that gene skipped my generation.

Then there’s the actual prep time.  I just don’t have that kind of time.  Even “make-ahead, put in the crockpot, this is so easy” recipes require a time investment.  It’d be different if I enjoyed spending my time that way, but I simply don’t.  I feel it is a waste of my time to watch cooking shows on TV, much less actually chop and slice in my always-messy, some dried juice is always going to stick to the bottom of the mixing bowl kitchen.  And today is Saturday, the only day of the week when I do have a tiny amount of time.

112505kitchen

Then the feeding of the troups commences.  Everyone reluctantly gathers around the table as I pry them all from their various activities.  Then the whining starts.  “I don’t like this”.  “What’s that horrible smell?”  “I’m hungry, but I can’t eat this stuff” are some of my favorite quotes, but the very best is this one “You know I never like anything you ever cook.  Why can’t I just eat a bowl of chips?  Are you trying to kill me?” (actual quote from this very night!) 

family-dinner

Once the pain is over, and the threats are tired, they all rush back to their little spots in the house, leaving me with a screaming baby because he has discovered the brownies on the counter and has deemed all other food inedible and a kitchen FULL of dirty mixing bowls, pots, plates and corn droppings.  I suppose it’s my fault that I haven’t trained my children better.  Brad does help out after dinner often and for that I am very appreciative.  And he has rarely complained to me about not cooking much or dinner in general.  He is a saint of a man who eats Burger King and PB&J on more nights than I care to admit.

dv1897032

I love him for that, but mostly tonight I’m just sad.  Sad that I hate dinnertime so much and that it always gets the best of me.  Sad that we do not have a Family Table worth eating at.  Sad that I’m typing this staring at a nasty mess and watching my children grab snacks out of the pantry and beg for frozen waffles 30 minutes after dinner.  Sad that I’m not a better homemaker and cook.  Sad that I just want to go to bed right now and know I have hours to go & lots to do before that can happen.  Sad that when I finally get this room in order, I’ll enter another room that is in total disarray.  

I’ll be better soon, but for now, I’m enjoying my self-pity.

~ by jenevangelista on February 7, 2009.

5 Responses to “I hate dinnertime!”

  1. I remember a cartoon I cut out years ago, laminated, and placed on the wall by the dinner table. It went along lines of Sally Forth lamenting that she needed to cook something for dinner that “we didn’t have last night, we can afford, all the ingredients are here in the house, I know how to cook, everyone likes it, and I can do it in 30 minutes.”
    Jen, you are not alone!!!!

  2. I think it was really mean of Brad to say, “You know I never like anything you ever cook. Why can’t I just eat a bowl of chips? Are you trying to kill me?” LOL!

  3. I am right there with you. PB&J, canned soup, mac and cheese, and frozen skillet meals are staples in our house. My problem is planning. I buy fresh meat, life happens, and by the time I actually get around to using it I am scared of poisoning my family with bad meat! The sad thing is, as little as I do actually cook full meals, you would think I cook 3 meals a day with the amount of dishes that pile up in the sink. How did our mothers do it?

  4. I don’t know how out mom’s did it, Kristian, but I’m glad to hear I’m not alone 🙂

  5. I think that everyone goes through that. I know that when my kids were young I would spend lots of time cooking a huge meal (and I loved to cook) then about 1/2 hour later I would hear: “I’m starving, is there anything to eat?” I can’t tell you how depressing that was!

Leave a Reply

 
