Mommy’s New Toy

tutu

I am now the proud owner of a Blackberry Curve 8330!  

Technically it is pink, not black, and displays a picture of my adorable little girl donning a hot pink tutu on the home screen making it quite girly and fun. 

Brad upgraded his SmartPhone (Palm Centro) recently thereby committing us to another 2 years of Verizon (wisely), so I decided the time was right to upgrade myself.  

Now, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to a little iPhone envy.  The device is so cool, the apps are awesome, but most importantly the syncing with my Mac would be so effortless.  The downside, however, is AT&T.  Their coverage in our area stinks and I’d have to trade in the ability to actually use the phone for the coolness factor.  So, on to Plan B.

For any of you who know me, you can believe that I spent hours researching the topic as if it were an investment that would make or break my future in life.  I mean, crazy research – scouring blogs, tech reviews, YouTube videos, and going into the store for “hands on” several times before actually making a choice and buying the phone.

blackberry-curve-8830-pink

My decision was the Blackberry Curve for reasons far too diverse and boring to ramble on about in this post.  I have spent the past 2 weeks getting to know my new device and am very happy with my decision.  There is a whole Blackberry world out there – complete with websites, blogs and podcasts.  I relied on Google for answers to many techie questions and have found Crackberry.com an indispensable source of information.  I have also discovered that the ability to see my e-mail in my hand and search the internet on command is strangely empowering and although I am immeasurably frustrated with the inadequacies of my Mac synching program, I’m still excited about my Berry and look forward to getting to know it better.

~ by jenevangelista on March 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “Mommy’s New Toy”

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Betty

  2. My sister-in-law, Gail, has a Blackberry and she, too, LOVES it. She uses the email function a lot. “Congratulations” on your step up (as Brad would say) and “Enjoy” (as I would say).

  3. I got the red Blackberry, or shouldn’t it be called the Redberry? lol, and I do love it as long as I have a Bluetooth to go along with it so I can input info into my scheduler.
    Texting is a little challenge since my thumbs are a little bigger but all in all it is a good choice for a phone!

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
