Timeless Treasures

“One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.”  A. A. Milne

It’s also an advantage of being a pack-rat.  A couple of weeks ago I started working through some boxes that were lovingly moved from storage at our old house to storage in our current house.  Wow, you cannot believe what I found!  Some of it went directly to the trash, some to Goodwill, some went back in a box because although I could think of nothing to do with the treasure now I couldn’t bear the thought of getting rid of  it.  I’ve already admitted I’m a pack-rat so no judging.   Some of the items were so historical that I had to photograph them before discarding them, which I think is making major strides as 2 years ago they would have remained in my “stay” pile and now only live on in cyber space.   And one of my most interesting finds landed in Arabella’s room!  

Deeply hidden for many years, I discovered my childhood Barbie case.  

IMG_7244

I, of course, have fond memories of the special toys that resided within and was immediately flooded with nostalgia.  There were 3 very sad Barbies and 3 Ken dolls – actually 2 were Ken and one was Donny Osmond, complete with his purple jumpsuit.  Come on, someone give me some love on this and tell me they, too, had Donny and Marie Barbies :).  “I’m a little bit country, I’m a little bit Rock ‘n Roll”.   Poor Marie was apparently a victim of the years as her purple dress was recovered, but there was no sign of her.

IMG_7240

In the old box, there were no sparkling princesses like those that are contained within my daughter’s current Barbie case and none of the dolls had buttons that allowed them to sing a tune made popular by a $14.99 DVD.  But there was a lot of classic ’70s clothing and even a pair of knee-high pink boots.  Most were, as would be expected, in less than perfect condition but they proved to be a real treasure anyway.  They provided me with fond memories and Arabella with hours of play.

             IMG_7234     IMG_7256

Princess Dress, circa 1973

Princess Dress, circa 1973

Princess Dress, Circa 2009

Princess Dress, Circa 2009

Apparently, although Barbie has changed with the times, she herself has remained timeless and comes out shining, even if she is a bit worn.

IMG_7222  

IMG_7254

~ by jenevangelista on June 17, 2009.

6 Responses to “Timeless Treasures”

  1. If you are anywhere near 40, then we are all a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll. I had all of the stuffy stuff like you did to go with Donny and Marie and all the rest…too bad I don’t have a girl to give it all to. It is a fun thought to think about Arabella playing with it all now.

  2. I guess all those paper dolls from Aunt Dodie’s house were long gone, huh? Neat find!

    • HA! Since they were all cut out from J.C. Penney’s catalogs, of course they didn’t stand the test of time :). The memories did, though – I feel a post coming on.

  3. Love it, Jennifer! Yes, I had Donny and Marie dolls too but who knows where they are now? What a lucky discovery…and how special you can share with your little daughter the dolls you played with as a little girl.

    I still have my childhood teddy bear – nose and paws rubbed off from years of love…and it is one of my son’s favorite things because it was mine.

  4. Boy would I give anything to have some of my barbie treasurs from the 70’s!! I would love to have my barbie townhouse with the elevator. Ella has a new barbie carrying case like the one you have. She has it stuffed with barbies and clothes! Now that I see your after all these years. I will always keep hers and carry it in a “memory box”! I want her to find it one day and share it with her little girl. Arrabella is so lucky!!

Leave a Reply

 
