7 Nights

We just spent our 7th night in our new house and I can say without reservation that it is home.  We have been truly blessed with a beautiful house on a gorgeous piece of property and I pray that I never lose perspective concerning what a gift it actually is.

As a point of confession, I have a general tendency to see things somewhat critically, and I scope out the negatives in most situations.  This is not always to discount or reject anything because of these negatives, it is sometimes just to prepare myself for potential work ahead.  I suppose you could say I’m a realist.  I’m married to a bit of a dreamer.  He usually sees the positive in things & chooses to minimize any potential faults.  This is a wonderful trait when he’s looking at me through those rose colored glasses, but sometimes makes for interesting conversations.  I guess you could say that together, we can usually see the whole picture.

Anyway, what does that have to do with the house?  We both looked at this house early in our hunt and neither of us really saw it’s potential.  It was in foreclosure and had been empty for a while, suffering from its lack of TLC.   After a couple of months at Greystone Summit, our search lead us full circle – back here.  And we are both glad it did.

The realist in me said we could never get in 12 days after closing with all the work that was needed.  The dreamer in Brad got it done.  There is still quite a bit to do, but where would the fun be if there wasn’t?  This structure of bricks and morter has been transformed in a short time into Our Home.

I look forward to years of love in this home and will not forget that, like all good gifts, it came from God.

~ by jenevangelista on April 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “7 Nights”

  1. Welcome home! The house looks awesome! Yall did a great job!

  2. Speaking of the phrase “without reservation,” do y’all take reservations? 🙂

  3. […] the Max I promise we did complete the alphabet!  There has just been so much going on with the move, I didn’t get all the letters posted.  So… here is M Day.  For some reason this was […]

Leave a Reply

 
