God Bless

I saw an adorable 12 month old little boy for his well baby check today.  His parents are wonderful people who I have come to know and like very much.  His mother reminded me of something today that caused me great reflection and a little heartache after their visit.  She was fairly matter of fact about the need to get his immunization record because her husband and this sweet infant were going to be living in another state for 2009, to be closer to family. 

You see, she is in the Army and will be deployed to Iraq in January of 2009 for a 12 month tour.  She will be trading a year of her life with her husband and a 15 month old baby for a foreign front, sand, guns and other soldiers.  I realize this happens every day all around the country, but it struck me interestingly hard today. 

Was it because it was the mother leaving for a year instead of the father?  Was it because I saw my Abe in her 12 month old son’s face?  Was it because of the pain in her voice when she playfully told her son how much she would miss him?  Was it because I was reminded that even as we endure constant political banter and can feel an almost palpable anxiety about our economy, there are still mothers and fathers leaving American soil this very day to fight in a war?  Men and women with the noble cause of preserving one of our most precious and sometimes most underappreciated gifts, our freedom.

I pray for them and all of our military families today.  Never let me forget all that they are doing for me.  God bless them and God bless America.

~ by jenevangelista on October 10, 2008.

One Response to “God Bless”

  1. Amen.

Leave a Reply

 
