The worth of a book

“The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it”
James Bryce

book

With all due respect to the long departed Mr. Bryce, I completely disagree with this statement.  This is an area where Brad and I do not see eye to eye.  My scholarly husband doesn’t read “fiction” (say it with air quotes and a wimpy voice and you will better approximate his opinion).  He finds it a waste of his time.  I do not necessarily disagree with him about the time wasting aspects of a good novel, or movie for that matter, but I do think it has great value in spite of that quality.

I read a lot and most of it is educational, but sometimes I get into a reading frenzy where I plow through several fictional works for pure recreation.  I am careful not to start a good book when I have a lot of extra things on my plate, which is why I haven’t read any in quite a while.  This is because I tend to ignore everyone and everything around me to get through said book as quickly as possible, including the basic needs of my children.  For me, the worth of a book is it’s ability to rob me of sleep all night engrossed in the pages.

I’m totally fine with carrying away nothing but the pleasure of entertainment.

~ by jenevangelista on August 18, 2009.

2 Responses to “The worth of a book”

  1. Agree completely 🙂

  2. No one ever seems to have a problem watching sports or fictional television. At least with fictional books you are actively involved with its consumption. I read a lot of nonfiction/educational books but much, much prefer reading a nice trilogy.

Leave a Reply

 
