Friend or Foe?

The boys got Wii Fit Plus from their grandparents for Christmas this year and I decided to check it out for the 1st time last night.  I’m not sure I like that smart-mouthed little computer.  It basically informed me that I am old, fat, and unbalanced.  And it had the audacity to do so in the presence of my children.  That is not the way to be a cool mom.  It even had the nerve to ask me if I trip a lot when I walk?  Apparently my “core muscles” have weakened… Really?

The sad and ironic part is that I am the same person who competed on a state level in gymnastics as a teenager & young woman.  And that crazy 4 inch Balance Beam was my best event.  What has happened to me?

Let’s recap, shall we?.  Many years have passed, many pregnancies have been endured, many drive-thrus have been visited, many excuses have been made.   Few workouts have been pushed, few extra minutes have been found, few hours of sleep have been enjoyed.  I have very little skill in the kitchen;  I have less time to use the little skill I have; and I receive even less appreciation from four kids who prefer chicken nuggets when I do spend the time to use the skill.

Wii Fit Plus, it’s you and me.  I’ve made the goals, I’ve documented my current BMI (choke), I’ve gained some determination.  Let’s see what we can do.

~ by jenevangelista on January 5, 2010.

5 Responses to “Friend or Foe?”

  1. I suppose your friends tell you the hard truth… but I wouldn’t take that from a little white box. Give it what for! 🙂

  2. This made my day Jen! I am sorry that it was at your expense, but I was feeling pretty bummed after accidentally (grin) stepping onto the scale after my workout at the gym tonight. UGH! Maybe I need the swift kick in the pants via the snarky wii! I need to copy and paste the main part of this post and use it b/c what you speak is the truth, who has time to be fit when you are a mommy? ((hugs)) to you on your wii fit journey.

  3. Well at least you have some goals…I firmly decided no goals over here, just plain out survival mode right now.

    PS. I love the name on the pictures…your good, real good…I think your looking at your next career.

  4. Hi, good for you!
    Don’t let that thing get the upper hand.:)

  5. Wow Jen good for you. I don’t think the Wii fit Plus likes anyone. I am a runner and thought I was in good shape but apparently not. I’m older in real years,which really ticked me off. But I continue, because it is fun, and want to just get healthier!

    Sylvia

    http://wp.me/LdgT

Leave a Reply

 
