Feeling the Love

It all started with a cookie.  Well, 2 cookies to be exact.  That’s how many chocolate chip cookies were left to divide among 3 children.  Joseph had long before assessed the doughy shortage and scarfed one down.  As our three remaining offspring winced in pain at the lack of sugary goodness, a rare sacrificial moment blossomed.  Arabella (without approval from her younger brother, I might add) offered to split a cookie with Abe so Jacob could have a whole one.

I was proud.

This was actually more monumental than it would seem as Bella and Jake have a relationship a bit reminiscent of baking soda and vinegar.  I know that blood is thicker than water, but I do not like that the altercations between these two often allow us to test this out.  This special bond between them is what makes this interaction blog-worthy in the first place.

Anyway, a few minutes later, Bella called me upstairs.  As she headed to her room, she was met with this…

“to:Bella.  here have a cookie.  you want it.  I hope you like it. from: Jacob”

Jacob, not to be outdone by his sister, made quite a sacrifice himself and laid down his cookie for her.  She was touched & devoured the dessert (poor Abraham).

I was proud again.

Can you feel the love yet?  Well, hold onto your heartstrings because Arabella rose up to pour it on thicker.  She wrote Jake this note and offered the flower that had once been given to me.  Not sure my pride swelled quite as high, but I was not unpleased.

“I love you Jacob. I rally do. To Jacob”

Two children who often live like this…

Had a moment of reconciliation and love today.

I love these kids.

~ by jenevangelista on June 25, 2010.

4 Responses to “Feeling the Love”

  1. WOW!!!! I love your tid bits into the lives of you and your children. I don’t think you would have given up your cookie to your brother. He would probably not given the cookie to you but me, so I would let him sleep at your door.

    • Hey, I’m sure I would have given up my cookie.. maybe :). Thanks for reading. It’s fun to experience life through the eyes of a child again.

  2. I’m a little embarrased to say that I teared up reading this post. Love it!

Leave a Reply

 
