Warning *Gross Alert*

Some basic childhood conversations are quite simply a little gross & this is one of them.  If you don’t enjoy hearing about nose gunk or if you are currently eating raisins or oatmeal, I’d suggest you stop reading now.

Here’s the scene… We were in the car coming home from church today and Arabella asked me what Boogers really were.  How were they made and what was their purpose?  You know, your average inquisition.  I gave her a pretty detailed physiologic explanation of our bodies immune system and the barrier defense our nasal hairs provide.  She concluded that the stuff that boogers consisted of was indeed nasty.  I concurred.

Then Abraham chimed in.  “I eat my boogers”.  Ahhh….

Arabella: “I used to eat mine, but not anymore”.

Abe: “They taste good.  Like juice”.

I am dying as I drive!  I explained that picking our dried nasal mucous was OK in private as a last resort, blowing was the preferred method of removal and ingestion was really not acceptable.

I think I made an impact, because at the lunch table 45 minutes later, this sweet 3 year old told his Daddy “I don’t eat my Boogers anymore”.  Yay, Abe!  My baby’s growing up.

And by the way…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

~ by jenevangelista on January 3, 2011.

One Response to “Warning *Gross Alert*”

  1. Ahh, kids. You just gotta love ’em!!! Cute story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
